Conversations

The Marginal Syllabus convenes two types of conversations to (re)mark upon equity and education.

First, you are very welcome to join one of our ongoing conversations related to current events via the Hypothesis Syllabi Project:

The Hypothes.is Syllabi Project leverages web annotation to collect primary source documents by theme and organize communal conversation of those documents. Teachers and students can help curate and discover content through the project. And they can join others in discussion of these texts and their underlying issues.

Second, you are invited to attend – and contribute to – one of our monthly flash mobs or annotathons.

Monthly Flash Mobs and Annotathons

March 2017 Update: The final three conversations of the 2016-17 academic year (during March, April, and May) will occur via annotathon, whereby participants are invited to read, annotate, and discuss a given text for a week. Read more about our change in conversation format.

During the 2016-17 academic school year, annotation flash mobs will occur on the last Wednesday of every month around 6p EST. Rather than prescribe a set curricula for the year, The Marginal Syllabus looks forward to participating authors and their texts joining this collaboration based upon interest and availability. See the schedule below for specific dates, times, and reading information.

Date & Time Text & Author Information
August: Wednesday 8/31/16 at
6:30p EST/4:30p MT/3:30p PST
Digital Redlining, Access, and Privacy
by Chris Gilliard & Hugh Culik (we’ll be joined by Chris)
Chris on Twitter: @hypervisible; Hypothesis: hypervisible
Related resource: Chris’ Situating Innovation (from Boston University Digital Learning Initiative Speaker Series, Nov 7, 2016)
September: Wednesday 9/28/16
at 6p EST/4p MT/3p PST
Speculative Design for Emergent Learning: Taking Risks
by Mia Zamora
Mia on Twitter: @MiaZamoraPhD; Mia via Hypothesis: MiaZamoraPhD
October: Wednesday 10/26/16 at 6p EST/4p MT/3p PST Introduction: What it Means to Pose, Wobble, and Flow (from Pose, Wobble, Flow: A Culturally Proactive Approach to Literacy Instruction)
by Antero Garcia and Cindy O’Donnell-Allen
Antero on Twittter: @anterobot; Cindy on Twitter: @Cindy_OA
November: Wednesday 11/30/16 at 6p EST/4p MT/4p PST Ed Tech and the circus of unreason
by Helen Beetham
Helen on Twitter: @helenbeetham; Helen via Hypothesis: helenbeetham
January: Wednesday 1/25/17 at
6p EST/4p MT/4p PST
The School and Social Progress (from The School and Society)
by John Dewey
Annotating with Christina Cantrill from the National Writing Project
Christina on Twitter: @seecantrill; Christina via Hypothesis: seecantrill
February: Wednesday 2/22/17 at 6p EST/4p MT/4p PST Research Writing Rewired: Lessons that Ground Students’ Digital Learning (Preface; book details)
by Dawn Reed and Troy Hicks
Dawn on Twitter: @dawnreed; Dawn via Hypothesis: reedd
Troy on Twitter: @hickstro; Troy via Hypothesis: hickstro
March: Monday, March 27th through Friday, March 31st (annotathon) How Can White Teachers Do Better by Urban Kids of Color?
by Christopher Emdin, author of For White Folks Who Teach in the Hood… and the Rest of Y’all Too: Reality Pedagogy and Urban
Christopher on Twitter: @chrisemdin; Christopher via Hypothesis: chrisemdin
April: Monday, April 24th through Sunday, April 30th (annotathon) Between Storytelling and Surveillance: The Precarious Public of American Muslim Youth (chapter from By Any Media Necessary: The New Youth Activism)
by Sangita Shresthova, Sangita on Twitter: @sangitacivics
Read additional information about partnership with Educator Innovation, including Webinar on Tuesday, 4/25 at 2p ET
May: Monday, May 29th through Sunday, June 4th (annotathon) Revising Narrative Truth (chapter from Personal Narratives Revised: Writing Love and Agency in the High School Classroom)
by Bronwyn Clare Lamay
Additional information about Educator Innovator partnership and Webinar on Tuesday, 5/31 at 7p ET